Yorkshire golf: Knaresborough GC storm into Yorkshire Fifth Division Team Championship

Yorkshire Sixth Division Team champions Knaresborough GC with YUGC president Jonathan Plaxton.
Yorkshire Sixth Division Team champions Knaresborough GC with YUGC president Jonathan Plaxton.

JASON TAYLOR'S best-of-the-day two-round total of 147 provided the platform for Knaresborough GC to win the Yorkshire Sixth Division Team Championship by an overwhelming 17 shots at Normanton GC.

Taylor carded rounds of 73 74 and was ably backed up by Nathan Seal (80 77) and Ian Backhouse (81 77).

West Bradford GC's Jackie McGinley and Tony Fothergill.

West Bradford GC's Jackie McGinley and Tony Fothergill.

Sandburn Hall GC and Lindrick GC both totalled 479, the latter now having won both the Seventh Division Preliminary Round, the Seventh Division proper and progress to the Fifth Division stage.

The latter will be held at Hillsborough GC on Wednesday, May 18.

Sandburn's team members were Will Adamson (84 77), Rob Heath (78 74) and Bryan Wilson (77 79).

Lindrick were represented by Ian Clarke (83 80), Kevin Parkes (79 81) and Richard Hodgkinson (77 79).

Best first-round score was carded by Matthew Raybould (Bridlington GC), a 71, and Chris Arrand, of Hickleton GC, took the afternoon honours with a 73.

Knaresborough's Butterhills Trophy was won by Brenden Donaghy (11 handicap) with 42pts, from Chris Hastings (10) and Steve Hardy (25) with 41, Hastings taking second on count back.

West Bradford GC'S opening Lawrence Batley Seniors League fixture at Halifax GC saw them go down to a 6-2 defeat.

Their victorious pairing included 'rookie' Jackie McGinley who was partnered with evergreen Tony Fothergill, the latter holing a long putt at the last to ensure a one-up win.

West Bradford's Seniors Friendly team secured a 6-0 clean sweep against Crow Nest Park GC, their team pairings being Roy Baker and Colin Pitman (won 5&3), John Goodyear and Ian Lightbody (6&4), Ian Peirson and Mike Davies (6&4), Bob Helley and Peter Mungovin (3&2), Bill Green and Ian Nicholson (6&5), and Andrew Haigh and Mike Nield (w/o).

West Bradford lades' Hill Bowl Medal Division One section was won by Marilyn Goodyear (94-18-76), three shots better than runner-up Alex Gavin (95-16-79) and third-placed Heidi Biggs (96-17-79).

Sheila Terry won Division Two (105-26-79), with Denise Dack (107-26-81) two back in second spot and Janet Smith (107-23-84) third.

Division Three winner was Sandra Vine-Jenkins (113-31-82). Carole Guest placed second (115-31-84) and third was Carol Craven (127-36-91).

Filey GC's Division One monthly medal winner was Andre Meunier (79-12-67), one ahead of both Mick Gould (76-8-68) and Leigh Franks (73-5-68).

Dennis Frankish won Division Two (84-17-67) on count back from Kevin Ness (80-13-67).

In Division Three, Les Moxon (89-21-68) triumphed by one from Jonathan Taylor (96-27-69) and Robin Conner (90-21-69).

Rudding Park GC's Tee Dance event attracted 83 entries, with players starting on the red tee then moving to the purple and then the white.

The field was split into three divisions (handicaps 1-10, 11-19, 20-28) with Neil Walker first in the top section with 38pts, two ahead of Paul Ross and three ahead of James Crowther.

Division Two winner Ian Barnes amassed 40pts, Rob Lawson taking second on 38 with Alan Hood a point further back in third.

Division Three needed a count back before Alan Bradley emerged victorious on 36 after tieing with Edward Forbes. Ken Ross, on 33, was third.

Rotherham GC's first Curry Night of the year saw 13 teams compete, with victory going to Darren Whitehouse, Tony Larder, Garry Leng and Graham Carr with 55pts over 12 holes.

Club member Simon Plumbe is celebrating after a hole-in-one on the third in the Captain's match.

Stuart Kendall's impressive 42pt haul earned him victory in the Fred Allott Trophy for players 55 and over. He won by six points from runner-up Stephen Marshall and third-placed Martyn Bonner.

Sunday's Pro's Stableford was won by Ian Booth with 39pts, two ahead of Dean Holbert in second. Third place went to Richard Jones on 35.

Rotherham's juniors - represented by Jack Whaley, Lewis Jarvis, Lucas Wood and Tom Guttridge - started their inter-club season at Sitwell Park GC with a second place finish behind the hosts.