Yorkshire golf: Ahsan Khan prevails in Willow Valley GC medal as Jeremy Bakes savours hole in one

Willow Valley GC member Jeremy Bakes achieved a hole in one on the sixthin Sunday's medal.
Willow Valley GC member Jeremy Bakes achieved a hole in one on the sixthin Sunday's medal.

LONG-STANDING Willow Valley GC member Ahsan Khan took the honours in the first class section of the club's monthly medal in challenging conditions.

The standard scratch was up at 74 on both days of the club's first handicap qualifying competitions of the 2016 season and Khan produced an excellent net 70 on Sunday in the medal.

Michael Tyas was runner-up with a net 74, while the second class section was won by Mark Budby, continuing his good form to return a net 73. Runner-up with a net 74 was Mark Astin.

In addition to winning the medal, Khan wins the club qualifying section of the Lombard Trophy.

John Rhodes won the first class section of the Saturday Stableford with 35pts while winner in the second class section was Mark Binns with 37.

Willow Valley member Jeremy Bakes achieved a rare hole in one on the sixth in Sunday's medal.

Lawrence Batley Seniors League saw only one match survive the Arctic weather on the date for the first round of 2016 fixtures, with Low Laithes GC defeating Queensbury GC 7-1 at home.

The inaugural Lawrence Batley 'Shoot-Out' competition, held at West Bradford GC, was won by Bradley Hall GC's Malcolm Sanders, Keith Ellis and Mick Robinson with 85pts, the best two scores counting on each hole.

Lightcliffe GC's Dick Nuttall, Mike Anderton and Graham Tolley were second, three points back, with the Committee Team of Peter Tomlinson, Ken Weatherill and David Yendell third with 76pts, Low Laithes GC's Russ Birch, Alan Hayman and Martin Quinn bested on count back.

Entries were received from 52 teams representing 30 of the 32 member clubs.

Hessle GC's Pro's Better Ball was won by John Wilson and Adrian Wilkinson on count back from Brian Drake and Danny Oakes after both pairings produced a 68.

The Pro's Individual Stableford was won by Charles Hodges, his 41pt total three better than that of Christopher Makepeace.

The Armstrong Bowl went to Paul Marshall (37pts), one to the good of runner-up Jim Morton.

Halifax West End GC's ladies went out of the Mail on Sunday Classic with a 3-2 away defeat to a strong Headingley GC side.

Brian Duffy, Ross Wadsworth, Mandy Holden and Freddy Nicholson are the latest members to qualify for this year’s annual medal final at Halifax West End, which will take place in September.

Over 140 competitors took part in the recent medal and Duffy had the lowest score of the day, winning Division One with a net 67. Division Two winner Ross Wadsworth returned a net 68.

Mandy Holden qualified for the ladies' annual medal final with a net 75, junior captain Freddy Nicholson reaching the junior equivalent with a net 78.

Prize for best gross score on the day was taken by Matthew Godfrey with a 74, winning on a last-three count back.

Meltham GC's Fisher Cup Foursomes 36-hole event was won by Will Sykes and Brad Whitwam with a 148 total, runner-up spot going to Tom Irving and Richard Taylor one shot back.

The best gross total, 160, came from Chris Whiteley and Mike Dobson.

The 18-hole competition winners were Nick Howe and Paul Joyce with a 74.

Catterick GC's men's May medal saw Gyan Dhenga triumphant in Division One with a net 68 off 11. Three shots back was Joe Cawley (81-10-71) with Andy Lincoln (79-7-72) third.

Meenjang Gurung won Division Two (85-19-66), one ahead of Ganesh Rai (86-19-67) and four in front of Colin Hawkins (90-20-70).

Division Three was won on count back by Keith Yeomans (92-22-70) from Bryan Williams (94-24-70). Third was John Lockey (95-22-73).

Catterick's qualifier for the Yorkshire ladies foursomes was won by Pat Weymes and Anne Moore. Second place went to Val Pringle and Sue Dines, third were Anne Guy and Denny Shovlin, and fourth place went to Ruth Suffell and Rachel Miller. All four pairings progress to the next round.

The Ladies Dales Alliance at Blackwell GC saw Catterick's Ann Hargreaves take first place in the bronze division while Ruth Suffell carded the best gross score.