Castleford Tigers make two changes to squad for St Helens game

Ben Roberts, back in the Castleford Tigers squad.
Ben Roberts, back in the Castleford Tigers squad.

Castleford Tigers head coach Daryl Powell has named his 19-man squad to take on St Helens on Thursday night.

The match kicks off at 7.45pm at the Mend-A-Hose Jungle and is live on Sky Sports.

Powell makes two changes to his squad who beat Leeds Rhinos at Magic Weekend on Saturday with Ben Roberts and James Green replacing Joe Wardle and Jake Webster, who are ruled out through injury.

Powell said: “Thursday night’s game against St Helens comes super quick after our recent Challenge Cup tie against them. I thought in that game we competed massively especially in the first half, we will however have to be more durable over the 80 minutes to contain St Helens attack at the moment. We will also need to put enough pressure on them to score points as they are also defended very well as a team.

“We are aware of the many outstanding players that are playing for St Helens at the moment and the fact that we will need to perform at the top of our game to come out on top.

“We are looking forward to playing against the best team in the competition this season so far and looking forward to giving our best effort of the season to date.”

Justin Holbrook will select his St Helens 17 from:

1. Jonny Lomax, 2. Tommy Makinson, 3. Ryan Morgan, 4. Mark Percival, 5. Adam Swift, 6. Theo Fages, 7. Matty Smith, 9. James Roby, 10. Kyle Amor, 11. Zeb Taia, 12. Jon Wilkin, 13. Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, 14. Luke Douglas, 15. Morgan Knowles, 16. Luke Thompson, 17. Dom Peyroux, 18. Danny Richardson, 19. Regan Grace, 23. Ben Barba.

Tickets are available to buy now and fans are reminded that they can save £2 a ticket by purchasing prior to game day from the retail stores in Carlton Lanes and Xscape or online from the Tigers website.

Castleford Tigers’ 19-man squad is: 18. Matt Cook, 6. Jamie Ellis, 17. Alex Foster, 22. James Green, 28. Kieran Gill, 24. Jy Hitchcox, 11. Oliver Holmes, 14. Nathan Massey, 12. Mike McMeeken, 9. Paul McShane, 10. Grant Millington, 13. Adam Milner, 2. Greg Minikin, 8. Junior Moors, 1. Ben Roberts, 15. Jesse Sene-Lefao, 4. Michael Shenton, 21. Jake Trueman, 32. Liam Watts.