Bland bags seven wickets as leaders bounce back

All-rounder Guy Abdy hit an unbeaten 80 and claimed 3-47 in Fairburn's win at Ackworth.
All-rounder Guy Abdy hit an unbeaten 80 and claimed 3-47 in Fairburn's win at Ackworth.

JONATHAN HUGHES and Scott Bland were outstanding as Streethouse put their Pontefract annd District Cricket League Division One title bid back on track by bouncing back from the previous week’s first league of the season against Ackworth.

Hughes hammered nine fours in an excellent 76 and Bland bagged 7-36 from 10 overs as leaders Streethouse beat Askern by 109 runs.

Bland and Damian Bowles (2-38) routed Askern for 80, replying to Streethouse’s 189-8.

With five matches left, Streethouse remain 18 points clear of second-placed Fairburn who won by 26 runs at Ackworth.

Kieran McIntyre (5-57) and Jordan Page (2-49) reduced Fairburn to 44-6 but they were rescued by Guy Abdy and Daniel Fitzpatrick.

Abdy struck one six and 12 fours in an unbeaten 80 off 94 balls. He put on 116 for the seventh wicket with Fitzpatrick (50) as Fairburn finished on 193-7. Ackworth’s reply started well when Scott Walker (60) led them to 108-2 but Kevin Watson (5-27) and Guy Abdy (3-47) sent them collapsing to 167 all out.

Inderjit Singh Hayre was again in excellent batting form for Frickley Colliery as they beat Old Sharlston by 62 runs.

Hayre clouted 77 and Mohammed Shoaib 49 as Frickley posted 194-8.

Dale McMullan (3-22), Luke Reeves (2-43) and Daniel Bullock (2-52) were Sharlston’s main wicket takers.

Jason Mills (4-39), Mohammed Ayub (3-40) and Imran Shahzad (2-23) routed Sharlston for 132 despite a defiant last wicket stand between Jack Rogers (32) and Thomas Murray (10no).

Dean Woolsey hit a vital 43 in South Kirkby’s 20-run win against Hatfield Town.

Opener Steve Secker (34) was the only one of Kirkby’s top seven batsmen to reach double figures before Woolsey, batting at number eight, pushed the total to 140.

Jacob Peacock (3-19), Stephen Ashworth (3-19), Tyler Browster (2-15) and Dean Woolsey (2-44) bowled out Hatfield for 120.

Steve Hardaker (4-33), Matthew Harrison (2-27), Joshua John (2-18) and Alywn Dyke (2-14) were the architects of Hooton Pagnell’s seven-wicket success against Barnby Dun.

West Bretton beat Rossington Main by 17 runs.

Hemsworth Miners Welfare maintained their Division Two title challenge by crushing Whitley Bridge.

Jake Taberner snapped up 7-19 from 6.2 overs and Jack Heritage 2-15 from six overs as Whitley were skittled for 42, chasing Hemsworth’s total of 188-9 that featured 56 by Jason Garrick and 40 from Mitchell Crapper.

Hemsworth are 10 points adrift of leaders Brodsworth Main who defeated Notton by eight wickets.

Fourth-placed Glasshoughton’s promotion hopes suffered another setback with a 76-run home defeat against Crigglestone.

Alex Clemo’s battling 28 was in vain as the Castleford side fell for 124, replying to Crigglestone’s 200-7.

Bottom side Allerton Bywater’s losing run continued at Knottingley.

Opener Gareth Portman (45) top scored as Allerton were dismissed for 129 by Chamila Wijesinghe (5-34), Craig Larrington (3-49) and Edward Wilson (2-22).

Matt Weaver (3-36) and Richard Lamb (2-25) gave Knottingley’s batsmen problems before Alex Frew (29no) saw them home.

Featherstone’s batting let them down badly against Rothwell.

Jamie Robinson (4-35), Jim Robinson (3-25) and Chris Appleyard (2-61) limited Rothwell to 186-9 which included 48 by Oliver Lightfoot.

In reply, Featherstone managed only 103, with Jim Robinson (24) the solitary batsmen scoring more than 20.

Will Turner (3-29), Joe Wilklinson (3-44), Joshua Hunting (2-22), Hamza Lodhi (34) and Nick Hunter (32) shone in Darton’s three-wicket victory against Stainborough whose defeat was tough on Tom Reid (4-29).