Allerton Bywater pair put bowlers to sword

Danny Murray hit 83 in Fairburn's win against Old Sharlston on Saturday.
Danny Murray hit 83 in Fairburn's win against Old Sharlston on Saturday.

Gareth Portman and Mohammed Tokir both struck centuries in Allerton Bywater’s 82-run win over Pontefract and District Cricket League Division Two rivals Featherstone.

Opener Portman finished unbeaten on 114 and Tokir hit 113 as Allerton piled up 278-3.

Adam Perry (74) and James Dunn (41) helped Featherstone salvage three batting points as they replied with 196-8.

Knottingley and Whitley Bridge maintained their Division Two promotion challenges.

Skipper Edward Wilson (36), John Clark (33no) and Paul Barnes (30) led the way as Knottingley overhauled Glasshoughton’s 165-9 that included 45 by Liam Hopton.

Captain James Pearson (106no) and Chris Welburn (39no) shared an unbroken 107-run stand in Whitley Bridge’s nine-wicket victory against Hemsworth.

Opener Andy Beck’s unbeaten 140, which included 13 sixes, steered Stainborough to a five-wicket win in a high-scoring match at Barnby Dun, for whomKieren Dinnage smashed eight sixes in a rapid 103.

Matthew Rowett’s 82 was not enough to give Rothwell the edge against Rossington Main who won by three wickets.

Division One champions Fairburn bounced back from two successive league defeats by crushing strugglers Old Sharlston.

Danny Murray (83) and Jake Abdy (69no) guided Fairburn to 229-5 and Craig Piggott (6-40) sent Sharlston collapsing to 104 all out.

Fairburn are just one point behind leaders Brook-Walton whose game at Askern was abandoned because of rain.

Askern reached 147-7 from 37 overs, replying to Brook’s 193-6 that included 45 by Simon Danby and an unbeaten 44 from Alwyn Dyke.

South Kirkby stepped up their challenge by beating Hooton Pagnell by 65 runs.

An unbeaten 114 by Joe Seddon, who hit 11 fours and two sixes, was the highlight of Ackworth’s 140-run victory against West Bretton.

Openers Danny Bridges and James Horbury both chipped in with half-centuries in Ackworth’s total of 264-4 .

In reply, Bretton managed only 124-6.

Sandal lost by 92 runs at Hatfield Town whose total of 298 included half centuries by Ellis Pattison and James Stewart.

Karl Hewitt (76) led Sandal’s scoring as they replied with 206-4.

League officials will hold an investigation into Frickley Colliery’s home Division One match against Streethouse.

Chasing Streethouse’s 221-9, Frickley were 205-5 with three overs remaining when the game ended prematurely.

In Division Three, Hundhill Hall coasted to a 10-wicket win against Kilnhurst Colliery who were skittled for 72 by Reece Johnson who claimed 6-7 in a 12-over spell that featured nine maidens.

It took Hundhill openers Ben Dunn-Birch (39no) and Simon Jewitt (31no) only 11.1 overs to knock off the runs.

Streethouse had to settle for six points from a 99-run home defeat against Brodsworth Main. Martin Rhodes (71no) and James Rhodes (421no) shared an unbroken 111-run stand as Streethouse closed on 188-3, replying to Brodsworth’s formidable total of 287.

Dan Hurst (58no), Mackenzie Noble (35), George Firth (32) and Jamie Buttery (4-41) shone for Nostell in a four-wicket victory at Hensall.

Chris Thornton (69) and Steve Robinson (33) were Hensall’s top scorers.

Thorpe Audlin moved level on points with Pollington at the top of Division Four by beating them by two wickets on Saturday.

Scott Murray (5-23) and Rob Iverson (3-35) skittled Pollington for 89 and openers Josh Liddle (30) and Jamie Evans (22) led Thorpe’s successful reply.

Ferrybridge Power Station were routed for 67 after Paul Lumb had taken 5-37 to limit Bentley Colliery to 120.

Nineteen wickets fell for just 103 runs as Fenwick won at Stanley Falcon.

Lee Radley (6-24), Conrad Burdekin (2-28) and Sam Holmes (2-8) toppled Fenwick for 68.

But 10-man Stanley had no answer to the bowling of Steven Vickerage (6-15) and Jeff Morton (2-19).

Sam Holmes (20) was the only batsman in double figures as the Wakefield team slumped to 35 all out.

Chamila Wijesinghe (4-22) and Keith Best (3-15) were the architects of Ackworth’s nine-wicket success at Sykehouse.

Rob Gledhill (4-42), Shaun Cockell (4-29) and Chris Day (50no) were Pledwick’s match-winners against Netherton whose five-wicket defeat was hard on Jake Oldroyd (53) and Qasar Khan (41)

Featherstone and Fairburn were both routed for low scores in Division Five.

Featherstone were all out for 55 at Thurnscoe and Fairburn managed only 58 at Stainborough who had earlier posted 277-7.

Stainborough openers Joseph Atkinson (125) and Jonathan Pepper (65) shared a 204-run partnership.

Andy Clegg (4-64) was Fairburn’s most successful bowler while Richard Holgate (26) was the only Fairburn batsman who reached double figures.

Glasshoughton were all out for 110 in a 108-run defeat to Brook-Walton.

Richard Hayes (57) and Andrew Lund (4-10) excelled for Knottingley as they beat Eggborough Power Station by 98 runs in Division Six.

Ferrybridge Power Station were indebted to Paul Snowdon (3-40 and 39no) and Adam Briddon (3-29) for a three wicket win at Division Seven East rivals Bentley Colliery.

In the Bob Martindale Trophy quarter-finals on Sunday, Ferrybridge Power Station won by nine wickets against Hundhill Hall who were bowled out for 58 by Paul Snowdon (3-18), David Shaw (2-9) and Andrew Adams (2-15).

Pegler and Bentley Colliery conceded their ties against Crigglestone and Stanley Falcon respectively.

Pledwick won by 46 runs at Newton Hill in the AJS Teamwear Trophy second round.