SLIDESHOW: Moses parts sea of talented cyclists to win John May Memorial Road Race

Tom Moses parted through a strong field of cyclists to secure victory in the 37th annual John May Memorial Road Race at the weekend.

Moses, who rides for Nottingham-based Team Raleigh, comfortably won the sprint finish on the near-70 mile circuit around the Wakefield district to come home in first.

Tommy Bustard, of the Herbalife team, and Wilsons Wheels RT rider Dave Shackleton pushed Moses all the way to make up the top three respectively.

The race was organised by Ron Bennett and Wakefield Cycling Club and a field of 55 riders started.

The rain held off but blustery winds greeted the competitors on a circuit that passes through Sharlston and Warmfield over ten laps.

The tough route means the winner is always a worthy one and the decisive move of the race came within the first couple of miles.

Elite riders Moses and Bustard were joined by Ben Kellett of Hope Factory RT and the trio made their move to explode away from the field.

At just 20 years of age Kellett was the least experienced of the leading pack but he did have the experience of winning the Ian Mountain Memorial Road Race, which uses the same route, last year.

The trio worked well together and by the end of the first lap had built a lead of 50 seconds on the peloton.

The three-man group become two when Moses and Bustard broke free from Kellett at the midway point before Shackleton, Jacob Scott and Alistair Kay gave chase to the leaders.

The front two were not caught, however, and Moses won the sprint finish to claim victory.

Result: 1 Tom Moses (Team Raleigh), 2 Tommy Bustard (Herbalife), 3 Dave Shackleton (Wilsons Wheels RT), 4 Jacob Scott (Team Sportscover), 5 Alistair Kay (Herbalife), 6 Matt Pilkington, 7 Danny Lowthorpe (Langsett Cycles), 8 Graham Briggs (Team Raleigh), 9 J Burgan (Langsett Cycles), 10 Josh Cole (Bike Box RT).