Hundhill Hall beat neighbours in trophy final

Hundhill Hall won Sunday's final at Fairburn.
Hundhill Hall won Sunday's final at Fairburn.

Hundill Hall lifted the Pontefract and District Cricket League’s AJS Teamwear Trophy by beating neighbours Thorpe Audlin by 54 runs in Sunday’s final at Fairburn.

Thorpe looked handily placed when man of the match award winner Ben Elmore (5-24), Josh Liddle (2-15) and Rob Iverson (2-21) sent Division Three side Hundhill collapsing from 38 without loss to 125 all out.

But the target proved too high for Division Four leaders Thorpe who were skittled for 71 by Sam Malyan (4-26) and Simon Jewitt (2-9).

Promotion-chasers Hundhill collected maximum points from the previous day’s league game at Newton Hill.

Richard Earnshaw (58) and Chris Walyton (36no) provided the backbone of Hundhill’s total of 169-9.

Jewitt (6-34) and Malyan (3-50) sent Newton Hill’s reply reeling from 98-3 to 139 all out.

Streethouse won by four wickets at Nostell who were routed for 47 by Stuart Camm (6-22), James Cosgrove (2-14) and Ricky Crossley (2-7).

Thorpe Audlin retained top spot in Division Four with a 33-run victory at Stanley Falcon.

Scott Murray (33) top-scored in Thorpe’s total of 121 and Matthew Faulkner (7-49) and Murray (3-31) bowled out Falcon for 88.

Thorpe stayed three points clear of closest rivals Pollington who beat nine-man Ryhill and Havercroft.

Tony Holmes bagged 4-27 as Ryhill were routed for 48.

Ferrybridge Power Station narrowly lost a low-scoring game at Fenwick.

Stuart Ellison (49) single-handely held Ferrybridge’s innings together. He was the solitary batsman in double figures as they fell for 98.

Keith Lumb (3-15) and Craig Ellison (3-23) reduced Fenwick’s reply to 75-8 but they were rescued byMark White who finished unbeaten on 38.

Gary Mitchell (96), Matthew Wilson (48), skipper Martyn Crooks (34 and 3-28), Aimee Danks (3-38), James Handley (2-37) and Daniel Rollin (2-43) led South Kirkby to a 74-run win against Pledwick.

Ackworth lost by 138 runs at Netherton.

Half-centuries by Toby Oldroyd, Qasar Khan and Ricky Wilby saw Netherton post 259-4 and Ackworth managed only 121, despite James Clark’s unbeaten 32.

Five Pontefract and District League teams will compete in the Yorkshire Council Championship play-offs on Sunday (noon start).

In the Division One competition, Ackworth host Batley, Fairburn visit Townville and Sandal are home to Hallam.

Barnby Dun host fellow Pontefract League team Rossington Main in the Division Two tournament.