Fairburn back on track in quest to retain title

Guy Abdy bagged 4-13 in Fairburn's win at West Bretton on Saturday.
Guy Abdy bagged 4-13 in Fairburn's win at West Bretton on Saturday.

Defending Division One champions Fairburn bounced back from two defeats to revive their Pontefract and District Cricket League title challenge with Saturday’s 104-run win at lowly West Bretton.

Second-placed Fairburn remain just two points behind leaders Sandal who won at Hooton Pagnell.

Guy Abdy (4-13), Jake Abdy (3-27) and George Smith (2-33) routed West Bretton for 105, replying to Fairburn’s 209 that featured 43 from Craig Piggott and 36 by Brian Divine.

Sandal coasted to a nine-wicket win after Sam Noden (4-36) and Raymond Aignworth (4-9) routed Hooton for 93.

Ackworth and South Kirkby maintained their challenges. Third-placed South Kirkby remain only six points adrift of the leaders after an impressive nine-wicket win against Askern.

Adam Rollin (4-50) and Liam Rollin (3-47) limited Askern to 214 which included a half-century by opener Dave Longley.

Steve Secker (92 not), Jake Rimmington (57) and Brayden Clark (39no) shone with the bat as Kirkby coasted home in 39.4 overs.

Fourth-placed Ackworth beat Hatfield Town by eight wickets.

Danny Bridges (60), Joe Seddon (57no), Dave Harris (39no) and James Horbury (31) excelled as Ackworth overhauled Hatfield’s 206-6 with eight overs to spare.

Brook-Walton’s title hopes were dented by a 104-run defeat at Streethouse.

Mohammed Bashir (88) and Gary Rhodes (60) shared a 99-run partnership as Streethouse recovered from 46-4 to reach 229-6.

Scott Bland (448), Chris Kippax (4-47) and Jordan Page (2-19) toppled Brook for 125, despite a defiant unbeaten 45 by former Streethouse captain Richard Vigars.

Frickley Colliery won by 36 runs at bottom team Old Sharlston.

Mohammed Shoaib (37) and Saj Khan (33) top-scored as Frickley were bowled out for 156 by Jase Ball who had figures of 7-26 from 12.2 overs.

Jason Mills (3-27) and Khan (5-30) soon had Sharlston’s reply in trouble and although tail-enders Stuart Taylor (28) and Sam Peel (15) put up resistance they were all out for 120.

Knottingley and Whitley Bridge maintained their Division Two promotion challenges.

John Clark (92no) was Knottingley’s match-winner as they beat Notton by two wickets.

Daniel Lund (33) was also an important contrubutor as Knottingley chased down Notton’s 203-4 for the loss of eight wickets.

Sam Lodge’s unbeaten 56 guided Whitley to an eight-wicket success at Rothwell who were dismissed for 135 by Lodge (5-14) and Mathew Daniel (4-34).

Jason Garrick (59), Phil Crapper (48), Andy Gorton (45), James Gorton (40) and Max Heritage (5-19) led Hemsworth Miners Welfare to a 149-run win at Allerton Bywater whose best performers were Usman Bashir (4-75) and Mohammed Tokir (33).

Featherstone collected maximum points from a 139-run win against Glasshoughton.

Joe B akali (71), Tom Wragg (37), George Reed-Hill (32) and James Dunn (32) provided the backbone of Featherstone’s total of 241-9.

Darren Sharp (3-32) was Glasshoughton’s best bowler.

The Castleford team’s reply never got going as they were toppled for 102 by Jamie Robinson (4-24), Wragg (3-19) and Todd Davis (2-33).

Alex Clemo (24) was Glasshoughton’s top scorer.