Dyke plays key role as Brook-Walton retain trophy

South Kirkby's Brayden Clark hit an unbeaten 145 in Saturday's win at Frickley Colliery.
South Kirkby's Brayden Clark hit an unbeaten 145 in Saturday's win at Frickley Colliery.

Ackworth’s hopes of a league and cup double were shattered when they lost to holders Brook-Walton in Sunday’s Dyson-Skidmore Trophy final.

Alwyn Dyke won the man of the match award as Brook kept alive their double bid by beating host club Ackworth by 62 runs to retain the trophy.

KevinWatson (4-13) and Dyke (3-35) toppled Ackworth for 140, replying to Brook’s 202-7 that featured 68 by captain Richard Vigars and an unbeaten 39 from Dyke.

James Horbury (38) led Ackworth’s scoring.

Brook and Ackworth both maintained their title challenges by collecting maximum points on Saturday.

Brook beat bottom team Old Sharlston by 106 runs and Ackworth won by seven wickets at Askern.

Danny Bridges (73) and Joe Seddon (58no) guided Ackworth to victory after Kieran McIntyre (4-36) and Dale Longfield (3-70) had dismissed Askern for 177.

Fairburn beat Hooton Pagnell by eight wickets to retain top spot in a wide open championship race in which only 14 points separates the leading six teams.

Craig Piggott (3-24) and the Abdy brothers - Simon (3-62), Guy (2-26) and Jake (2-41) - dismissed Hooton for 156.

Mark Abdy (54) - the fourth brother - Ryan Greatrick (41) and Piggott (37no) led the way as Fairburn knocked off the runs in just 18 overs.

Fairburn remain two points clear of second-placed South Kirkby who won by 118 runs at neighbours Frickley Colliery. Brayden Clark hammered four sixes and 18 fours in an unbeaten 145 and put on 161 for the second wicket with Steve Secker (61) as Kirkby raced to 275-3.

Dave Rollin (4-51), his son Adam (4-27) and Dean Woolsey (2-46) bowled out Frickley for 157 which included 34 extras.

Sandal stayed just one point behind behind Kirkby by trouncing Streethouse by 113 runs.

Luke Smith (60) and Adrian Cundy (41) led West Bretton to 203-6 at Hatfield whose reply was restricted to 180-8 by Dan Wood (4-51).

Knottingley’s excellent season in Division Two continued with a five-wicket win against Stainborough.

Mark Swales (5-23) and Edward Wilson (3-37) routed Stainborough for 137 which Knottingley comfortably overhauled thanks to Matthew Stones (37), Andrew Bedford (25) and Nick Kirton (20).

Second-placed Knottingley 17 points adrift of leaders Rossington Main who won by five wickets at Whitley Bridge.

James Pearson (48 and 2-25) and Ben Lodge (48no) were Whitley’s best players.

Glasshoughton and Hemsworth Miners Welfare both achieved home wins.

Rob Sperrin’s unbeaten 126 that featured three sixes and 17 fours was the highlight as Glasshoughton beat Rothwell by 84 runs. Chasing the Castleford side’s 217-4, Rothwell managed only 133, with Richard Caunce grabbing 4-10, Craig Bryant 2-25 and Sperrin 2-24. Bailey Matthews (52no and 3-26), Jason Garrick (40), Max Heritage (3-38) and Jack Heritage (3-35) were Hemsworth’s match-winners against Notton.

Mohammed Tokir (49no) was the only batsman in double figures as Allerton Bywater fell for 119 in a 10-wicket defeat at Barnby Dun, for whom openers Kieren Dinnage (76no) and Phillip Decent (33no) shared an unbroken 122-run stand in just 14 overs.

Featherstone were skittled for 95 in an eight-wicket loss at Darton.