Ackworth achieve last over win in high-scoring cup match

Lee Stuckey hit an unbeaten 84 in Streethouse's trophy win at Hatfield Town on Sunday.
Lee Stuckey hit an unbeaten 84 in Streethouse's trophy win at Hatfield Town on Sunday.

ACKWORTH won a high-scoring Pontefract and District Cricket League Dyson-Skidmore Trophy second round game at Glasshoughton in the final over.

Alex Clemo (51), Liam Hopton (45) and Chris Sherriff (41) provided the backbone of Glasshoughton’s total of 235.

Ackworth’s wicket-takers were Shaun Longfield (4-36), Brodie Mathews (3-47), Bailey Mathews (2-57) and Kieran McIntyre (1-39).

Openers Joe Siddon (59) and Scott Walker (55) gave Ackworth’s reply a great start.

Dave Harris chipped in with 47 as they overhauled the target for the loss of five wickets with just three balls to spare.

Rob Sperrin (2-26) was Glasshoughton’s most successful bowler.

Division One leaders Streethouse stayed in the chase for a league and cup double by beating Askern by six wickets.

Chrtis Kippax claimed 5-34 in a six-over spell to restrict Askern to 161, which included 47 by Aaron Gillies.

Johnathan Hughes (63) struck a half-century for the second successive day and received good support from Mark Robinson (37) as Streethouse comfortably knocked off the runs.

Division One strugglers South Kirkby lost at home to Division Two side Stainborough.

Luke Potter (91) and Joe McLee (65) led Stainborough to 224-9 and Kirkby’s reply fell 25 runs short, despite Steve Secker’s 66.

All-rounder Mohammed Ayub was outstanding in Frickley Colliery’s five wicket win at Brodsworth Main.

Ayub (6-20) and Jason Mills (2-18) bowled out Brodsworth for 154 and Ayub (57), Jack Parkinson (36no) and Andy Wathey (32) led the way as Frickley recovered from losing both openers with just 10 runs on the scoreboard to overhaul the target in 37 overs.

Rossington Main won by seven wickets at Featherstone after bowling out the home side for 118.

Hooton Pagnell were dismissed for 101 in a four wicket home defeat against Hatfield Town.

David Hoyle (67), Luke Smith (34) and Tom Clifford (30) batted excellently as West Bretton piled up 293-9 at Notton, whose reply fell 111 runs short despite captain Jonathan Habe’s unbeaten 107 off 85 deliveries.

The Dyson-Skidmore Trophy quarterfinal draw is: West Bretton v Hatfield Town, Rossington Main v Streethouse, Ackworth v Stainborough, Frickley v Hemsworth or Fairburn. Ties to be played July 2.

Hemsworth host Fairburn in a delayed second round match this Sunday.

Division Three leaders Streethouse 2nds bounced back from their first league defeat this season at Thurnscoe on Saturday by reaching the AJS Teamwear Trophy quarter-finals the next day.

They visit Fenwick in the next round on July 2 after winning by eight wickets at Hatfield Town.

Ricky Crossley (4-21) and James Rhodes (2-15) kept Hatfield at 180-7 in their 40 overs and Lee Stuckey (84no) and Johnathan Nickerson (46) steered Streethouse to victory in just 25.5 overs.

The other quarter-final ties are Netherton v Pledwick, Ackworth v Pollington and Hundhill Hall v South Kirkby or Frickley.

South Kirkby host Frickley Colliery in a delayed second round match this Sunday.

Nostell posted 191-5 at Pollington who knocked off the runs for ther loss of only six wickets with four overs to spare.

Pledwick won by 109 runs at Garforth.

Conrad Burdekin bagged 7-13 from eight overs and Rob Gledhill snapped up 2-1 from nine balls as Garforth were skittled for 35, replying to Pledwick’s 144 that featured 40 by Chris Day.

None of Garforth’s batsmen reached double figures and the biggest contributor to their total was 11 extras.

Netherton were indebted to Stuart Griffiths (76) and Kevin Townend (75) as they recovered from a poor start to pile up 211-5 against Newton Hill, for whom Archie White and Chris Colley each claimed two wickets.

Opener Gary Jennings’s 34 and Gary Wilcock’s 23 were in vain for Newton Hill who managed only 84.

Netherton’s wicket-takers were Griffiths (3-35), Steve Lickley (3-10), Tim Wright (2-6) and Daryl Vaile (2-33).

Fenwick were the highest scorers in the second round.

Captain Jeff Morton finished unbeaten on 124 as they raced to 253-8 at Thurnscoe.

Chris Stothard (48) and Brad Hunter (29) also batted well.

Thurnscoe’s reply of 213-8 included 67 by David Atkinson, an unbeaten 48 from Dean Hazlewood and 40 by Don Whitehurst. Fenwick’s Stothard had figures of 4-15 and Morton took 3-15.

Hundhill Hall had a walk-over in their home tie against Sykehouse and Ackworth had a walk-over at Yorkshire Main.

In the Heywood-Williams Trophy second round on Sunday, there were home victories for Knottingley, Old Sharlston and West Bretton.

Bradley Davis (53no), Gordon Davis (27) and Ian Brown (20no) guided Knottingley to a nine-wicket win against Thurnscoe who were bowled out for 121 by Mark Swales (2-19), Paul Green (2-19) and Darren Green (2-28).

Colin Scattergood, Richard Broadbent and Sachin Karan all struck half centuries and Anthony Maskill finished unbeaten on 44 in Sharlston’s total of 240-4 against Denby Grange who were all out for 133.

Sharlston’s Graham Jarvis and Karan each took three wickets and Broadbent and Stuart Taylor both snapped up two.

Brodsworth Main’s bowlers were put to the sword in a 115 run defeat at West Bretton.

Ian Gott smashed 22 boundaries in an unbeaten 148 and shared an unbroken fourth wicket stand of 272 with Scott Ledger (126no) as Bretton racked up a mammoth 315-3.

Jack Bagnall hit an unbeaten century in Brodsworth’s spirited reply of 200-7.

Rossington Main conceded at Eggborough Power Station and Calder Grove had a walk-over at Askern.