England come out on top in fans match with Frickley

Frickley Fans match with England Fans
Frickley Fans match with England Fans

Frickley Athletic’s fans team could not repeat their success from last year as they were beaten 5-0 by the Englandfans team in a fundraising match at Westfield Lane for the Frickley Athletic Redevelopment Fund on Sunday.

This was the second year in a row that Garford Beck has brought his Englandfans team to Frickley and they were looking for sweet revenge after last year’s defeat to Frickleyfans on penalties.

The England team started off the most promising and took their chances well with Roy Chatterjee and Matthew Harris both scoring in the first half to take their side into a 2-0 lead.

The second half saw Englandfans dominate and they soon made it 3-0 with a goal from Lewis Robson.

They were then awarded a penalty by referee Lee Daley, but captain Mark Tighe hit his spot-kick over the bar, Stuart Pearce style.

However, Chatterjee scored his second, which was also the goal of the game, with a stunning 30-yard strike which would have beaten any goalkeeper.

Frickleyfans’ best chance of the game at this point came to Tom Grindel who hit a superb 25-yard strike, which looked to be going in only for Englandfans’ keeper Andrew Scullion to save brilliantly.

Lewis Robson then notched his second goal of the game in the last minute to make the final score 5-0 to Englandfans.

At the end of the game, Frickleyfans manager Chad Thomas presented the winner’s trophy to Englandfans’ captain Mark Tighe to cap a great team display from them. The game itself raised £705 to be added to the Frickley Athletic Redevelopment Fund. A big thank you is extended to everyone who took part and helped with the match, especially Chad Thomas and Garford Beck for arranging this game again. The Blues are hoping next year will see another re-match as a decider with the honours at one win each.

Frickleyfans man of the match was Simon Ostcliffe and the Englandfans man of the match was Roy Chatterjee.

Frickleyfans: Jaz Billard, Matt Cole, Bob Foster, Lee Foster, Tom Grindel, James Holland, Jon Hood (c), Allan Howcroft, Phil McCroakam, Ethel Naylor, Dingbat Naylor, Dan Ostcliffe, Simon Ostcliffe, Reece Phillips, Dan Sampford, Chad Thomas, Paul Thomas, James West, Luke Westgate.

Englandfans: Richard Boddy, Gerard Buckel, Roy Chatterjee, Trevor Franklin, Conrad Goodhall, Don Goodhall, Gerard Grimes, Chris Harkin, Matthew Harris, Simon Hartshorn, Adam McDaid, Kevin McDaid, Richie Morre, Dan Pain, Oliver Pearman, Luke Pearman, Tim Pendenque, David Reasebeck, Lewis Robson, Rob Russell, Andrew Scullion, Sam Shethran, Craig Thompson, Mark Tighe, Josh Walne, Wes Watts, Greg Wright.