Barnsley on the road at Chesterfield for season opener

Barnsley FC
Barnsley FC

Barnsley FC will begin their new Championship campaign with a visit to play-off semi-finalists Chesterfield on Saturday, August 8.

The Tykes have a tough opening run of games as they face newly promoted Burton Albion and Shrewsbury Town, relegated Blackpool and Millwall and three of last season’s top eight in their opening nine matches.

The Brewers are the first to travel to Oakwell on Saturday, August 15 before facing the Lions at The Den three days later (August 18).

Testing matches against play-off hopefuls Bradford City and Rochdale then await on Saturday, August 22 and Saturday, August 29 respectively.

League Two runners-up Shrewsbury and losing play-off finalists Swindon Town visit South Yorkshire on the 5th and 12th of September respectively before a trip to the seaside to face Blackpool on Saturday, September 19.

The Tykes travel to Doncaster Rovers for an all South Yorkshire affair on Saturday, October 3 and face play-off semi-finalists and fellow South Yorkshire rivals Sheffield United on Saturday, November 28.

The reverses of the aforementioned fixtures take place Saturday, February 20 (Doncaster Rovers) and Saturday, April 23 (Sheffield United) respectively.

Barnsley face relegated Wigan Athletic in their final game of the season on Sunday, May 8.