Ellis wins Championship player of the week award

Andy Ellis.
Andy Ellis.

Featherstone Rovers hooker Andy Ellis is the Kingstone Press Championship Player of the Week.

Ellis earned the award after a dominant performance in Featherstone’s 32-26 win against Batley Bulldogs last Sunday.

He earned praise from both coaches for his display when he played virtually the entire game and was immersed in the action throughout.

Batley coach John Kear described his display as “outstanding”, while his own coach Andy Hay was also fulsome in his praise for the former Wakefield player.

Hay said: “Andy Ellis was excellent – he had to play almost 80 minutes due to and injury and was the stand out player.

“He was fantastic in defence, and in attack he was a constant threat and made a number of very good breaks.”

The Kingstone Press Championships Performance of the Week award went to Barrow Raiders, who climbed off the bottom of the table as coach Bobbie Goulding made a successful return to playing in their 38-18 win over Rochdale Hornets.

The Kingstone Press Try of the Week award went to Leigh’s former Castleford player Ryan Brierley, who finished a set play in fine style to register his side’s fourth try in a 28-16 victory over Workington Town.

Centurions coach Paul Rowley said: “It was a move we’ve done many times. We need to be nice and intricate around the ruck, with three tight passes creating space and Brierley supporting up the middle.

“When it’s executed well it’s a pretty special try. It takes a lot of skill and a lot of teamwork. The move started about 60 metres out, and Ryan had 40 metres to go to score. It was good to watch.”

The Kingstone Press Championship Team of the Week:

1 Tom Carr (Whitehaven)

2 Scott Turner (Sheffield Eagles)

3 Tom Armstrong (Leigh Centurions)

4 Jessie Joe Parker (Whitehaven)

5 Ben Blackmore (Batley Bulldogs)

6 Carl Forber (Workington Town)

7 Anthony Thackeray (Dewsbury Rams)

8 Jordan Hand (Whitehaven)

9 Andy Ellis (Featherstone Rovers)

10 Tony Tonks (Halifax)

11 Jason Walton (Barrow Raiders)

12 Liam Kent (Doncaster)

13 Sam Barlow (Leigh Centurions)