Castleford supporters hold player of year awards night

Daryl Powell accepts the CTSC committe player of the year award on behalf of Luke Gale from Di Lake.
Daryl Powell accepts the CTSC committe player of the year award on behalf of Luke Gale from Di Lake.

The eleventh Castleford Tigers Supporters Club awards night took place at a packed George V WMC when it was standing room only as another good season was reviewed.

Grant Millington was the big winner of the CTSC player of the year while Luke Gale added to his end of season awards by picking up the committee player of the year, Luke Dorn won the special achievement award and Ash Robson the young player of the year.

Tigers chief executive Steve Gill gave his review of the season and thanked everyone at the club and the fans for a another great season.

He took questions from the audience, which included potential signings, season tickets, Thursday night fixtures and a meeting with the RFL in October.

With the full squad in attendance the first award went to the under 19s player of the year, sponsored by Faye’s Sandwich bar with Faye Noon presenting the award to Ash Robson, who made his memorable Super League debut in the away game at Salford.

U19s coach Ryan Sheridan said a few words about how Ash had really progressed throughout the season.

The committee player of the year award, sponsored by the Black Swan, Normanton, went to Luke Gale with head coach Daryl Powell accepting it on the player’s behalf from Di Lake.

Powell gave his review of the season, explaining the nervousness after three opening matches without a win, his liking of the new format, the five straight wins that put Cas in a good position for the top four, the disappointment of the Challenge Cup and not making the top four.

He said the positives were that the Tigers competed consistently throughout the season and could have quite easily finished higher in the table. Daryl thanked the team for their efforts and the fans for their support.

The special achievement award,sponsored by Carpet Magic, Kippax was presented by Steve Smith to Luke Dorn for scoring more tries in Super League than any other Australian or overseas player.

The final award of the night was the 2015 CTSC player of the year, sponsored by Asquith’s Fish and Chips, and it was presented by Paul Asquith to Grant Millington following the closest vote in 11 years.

The popular player’s form has been consistently high. A pack leader with a fantastic work rate in attack and defence,he delighted fans by saying that he wanted to finish his career at Cas and is contracted to 2019.

The CTSC thanked the players who are leaving for the service given to the Tigers and wished them all well in their future careers.

Sponsors Powder Keg, D&R Group,New Venture Driving Tuition, Faye’s sandwich bar, Black Swan Normanton, Carpet Magic, Kippax and Asquith’s Fish and Chips were also thanked along with the George V WMC staff and committee.

A total of £589.50 was raised on the night.