Castleford legend inducted into RL Hall of Fame

Malcolm Reilly in action.
Malcolm Reilly in action.
Share this article

Castleford legend Malcolm Reilly along with Barrow’s most celebrated player Willie Horne are the latest to be inducted into the sport’s most exclusive club, the Rugby League Hall of Fame.

The Rugby League greats were formally inducted into the Hall of Fame at a celebration dinner in association with Rugby League Cares at Huddersfield this evening.

Reilly’s playing career spanned three decades, during which he cemented his reputation as one of the games genuine hard men. Reilly debuted for Castleford aged 19 and played for his home town in two stints, first between 1967-71 and then between 1974-86 after returning from a successful stint in Australia with Manly.

The loose forward won the Lance Todd trophy with Castleford in their 11-6 win over Salford in 1969. Reilly appeared at Wembley again the following year in Castleford’s 7-2 triumph over Wigan.

Hailed as Barrow’s favourite son, Willie Horne captained Barrow, Lancashire, England and Great Britain between 1943-1959.

Courageous and inspiring, Horne played for England between 1945-1953 scoring 38 points in 14 games, in addition to representing Great Britain on eight occasions during the 1946-1952 seasons, scoring 20 points.

Following last year’s induction of Lewis Jones, Martin Offiah MBE, Garry Schofield OBE and Mick Sullivan, RFL Chief Executive Nigel Wood believes it is important to continue to celebrate the exploits and talents of Rugby League’s ultimate heroes.

“It is right and proper that these two outstanding players join the existing 21 greats within the Rugby League Hall of Fame,” said Wood.

“As we approach an exciting new era with a new league structure for 2015, it is also important to celebrate our heritage and to recognise the players who have enriched our game through the years.”

The Rugby League Hall of Fame was established in 1988 to commemorate the greatest ever players in British Rugby League. The induction of Willie Horne and Malcolm Reilly takes the total number of players in the Hall of Fame to 23.