Blues kick-off 2012 with last-gasp Whitby loss

Frickley athletic new kit  New club badge
Frickley athletic new kit New club badge

FRICKLEY Athletic kicked-off 2012 with defeat at the Tech5 Stadium on Monday as Whitby Town left South Elmsall with a 2-1 victory.

Town substitute Matthew Tymon scored a last minute winner to see Peter Rinkcavage’s out-of-form men crash to their fifth straight loss in the Evo-Stik Premier Division.

Whitby, themselves struggling at the wrong end of the table with just two league wins to their name going into the clash, took the lead in the 17th minute through Andy Appleby.

Frickley pressured the Whitby goal in the second half and found the equaliser in the 76th minute when Ollie Ryan beat two defenders before slotting the ball beyond Town stopper Nicholas Liversedge.

The hosts had the momentum in the final stages but were hit with a sucker punch in the final minute when Tymon struck his free-kick into the back of the net.

Frickley: Stephen Dickinson, Kelvin Bleau, Ben Turner, Danny Walsh, Lincoln Adams, David Cyrus, Alex Callery (Karl Jones 68), James Ashmore, Brad Grayson, Ollie Ryan, Ryan Mallon. Unused subs: Ben Saynor, Grant Darley, Ollie Steeple, Matt Semley.

Whitby: Nicholas Liversedge, Ibrahim Hassan, Mark Robinsdon, Andrew Leeson, Alex White, Darren Williams, Tom Portus, Jimmy Beadle, Jamie Clarke (Matthew Timon 83), Andrew Appleby (Lee Ure 90), Billy Blackford (Callum Martin 73). Unused sub: David Campbell.

Referee: Mr Gareth Mellor.

Attendance: 273.

See this week’s Hemsworth and South Elmsall Express for all the latest sports news from around the area.