Blues in hat for FA Cup draw after Harrogate stalemate

editorial image

FRICKLEY Athletic’s name will be in the hat for today’s FA Cup third qualifying round draw after the Blues drew 1-1 with Harrogate Town at the Tech5 Stadium on Saturday.

Peter Rinkcavage will take his men to North Yorkshire for their second qualifying round replay on Tuesday night after Grant Darley levelled a Will Turl opener for the Blue Square Bet North side at the weekend.

Town, favourites coming into the clash, bossed the opening 15 minutes and broke the deadlock but the introduction of Darley, in place of the injured Callery, turned the game and the South Elmsall side could have easily gone on to produce a cup shock.

They started on the back foot though and Adam Billard, the Frickley goalkeeper, did well to parry an Ian Ross shot only for Turl to drill the rebound into the roof of the net after 12 minutes.

The hosts upped their game after the introduction of Darley, and Brad Grayson twice came close before Darley drilled a low effort which was comfortably collected by Zac Jones in the visiting goal.

They got their equaliser just a minute before half-time when Stuart Ludlam flicked on a James Ashmore free-kick and Darley turned to fire the ball into the back of the net.

Town could have regained their lead in first-half stoppage time but Richard Pell saw his header come back off the woodwork.

Frickley took the game to their visitors straight from the restart and Ludlam headed an Ashmore free-kick over the bar from close range.

Kelvin Bleau then saw his shot clip the post before Grayson had an effort well blocked by the Harrogate defence as the Blues searched for a winner. They carved out the better chances but they couldn’t find a way to beat the Town defence for a second time.

Both sides will go head-to-head for a place in the next round at the CNG Stadium on Tuesday night, kick-off 7.45pm.

Frickley: Adam Billard, Kelvin Bleau, David Cyrus, Danny Walsh, Lincoln Adams, Stuart Ludlam, Alex Callery (Grant Darley 14), James Ashmore, Brad Grayson (Karl Jones 82), Ryan Mallon, Mark Whitehouse (Leon Henry 77). Unused subs: Ben Leonard, Ben Saynor.

Harrogate Town: Zac Jones, Liam Darville, Craig Radcliffe, Ian Ross (Liam Hardy 60 (Matt Bloomer 90)), Richard Pell, Jake Picton, Lee Elam, Laurie Wilson, Will Turl (Johnny Allen 82), Peter Bore, Stephen Turnbull. Unused subs. Paul Heckingbottom, Lee Ashworth. Ben Cohen.

Referee: Mr Alf Greenwood

Attendance: 285

See this week’s Hemsworth and South Elmsall Express for all the latest sports news from around the area.