Voting starts for youth MPs

Share this article

VOTING has started to choose the youngsters who will represent the area and put forward the views of their peers in the Youth Parliament

The five candidates are hoping to be elected as Member of the Youth Parliament (MYP), or deputy member, so they can regularly meet government ministers and civil servants to argue for the changes that young people want to see.

They are also involved in local, regional and national campaigns on behalf of their constituents.

Joshua Wicks and Emilie March, both of Minsthorpe High School, Debbie-Lea Pritchard, who is the current deputy MYP, and Ellisse Garrison, both of Hemsworth Arts and Community College and Amy Dragisic of Ackworth Howard J & I C of E School, are hoping to be chosen.

Voting started on Monday in high schools, colleges and year six classes in primary schools. The deadline is tomorrow.

Votes will be counted on Friday, February 10.

Wakefield Council leader Coun Peter Box said: “The UK Youth Parliament provides a vital platform to get young people involved in issues important to them and their peers. It is essential to our democracy that young people play an informed and active role in making the important decisions about our how our society and communities are run.”

Visit to read the youngsters’ manifestos.