Town and parish elections

Local elections. The count. Thornes Park, Wakefield.'w5140f119
Local elections. The count. Thornes Park, Wakefield.'w5140f119
Share this article

Labour Party councillor Maureen Cummings held onto her seat in Crofton, Ryhill, and Walton after she gained 2,954 votes - 61.2 per cent of those cast in the ward.

She said: “I am absolutely elated and I think that all the hard work in the last seven years has paid off.”

Labour councillor Glyn Lloyd also kept hold of his seat in Hemsworth. He received 2,322 votes, a majority of 59.5 per cent.

He said: “I have worked hard all year and will continue to do so on my ward’s behalf.”

The overall turnout for the district was 35.4 per cent.

Labour now has 39 seats, an increase of five, the Conservatives have 21, down from 23, and independent councillors gained three seats, down from five.

Labour retained control with a majority of 15 seats.

In other town and parish elections, Havercroft with Cold Hiendley’s seats were taken by Labour’s Albert Manifield, Faith Heptinstall and John Shaw, independent candidates Cheryl Ann Saul, Dennis Williamson, Michelle Tracy White, Emil Brown, Andrew Williamson and Conservative Ian John Sanders.

Hemsworth Town Council’s seats were won by Labour’s Robert McIntyre, Ann Westmorland, Alan John Draper, Doreen Swift, Sam Gilliver-Cooper, Tony Upson, Linda Wootton, Sandra Pickin and Shirley Gilliver-Cooper and independents Stan Wilson, Jim Kenyon, John Richardson, John Leach, Peter Hardacre and Ian Womersley.