Ton-up Hayre stars in Frickley Colliery victory

Indy Hayre.
Indy Hayre.

Inderjit Singh Hayre hammered two sixes and 19 fours in a superb 126 to give Frickley Colliery a six-wicket victory with two deliveries to spare when they entertained Old Sharlston in Division One of the Pontefract League.

The visitors, inspired by Tom Craig (40), Jason Ball (60) and Sam Peel (25), together with an amazing 64 extras, set a challenging task by posting 250-9.

Bowling well for Colliery were Jack Parkinson (2-28), Pali Singh Gil (2-35) and Mohammed Ubaid (2-58).

After an opening partnership of 64 with Mohammed Shraid (19), Hayre added 73 for the second wicket with Andy Wathey (37) before Pali Singh Gil (41) maintained the momentum to see Frickley reach 251-4 and gain maximum points.

This Saturday, Frickley visit neighbours Hooton Pagnell, wickets pitched 1.30pm.

A batting collapse led to South Kirkby going down by 23 runs at Askern Welfare while managing to salvage four points.

Andrew O’Grady (23), Nick Bisby (44) and Aaron Gillies (38), put the meat on the Welfare knock of 164-7.

Leading the Kirkby bowlers were Dave Rollin (3-54), Dean Woolsey (2-11) and Liam Rollin (1-18).

There was a solid start by Jake Rimmington (59) and Stephen Secker (30), but the visitors flattered to deceive, even with 29 extras, Richie Bresnan (10) being the only other in double figures as they were sent back for 141.

Doing the damage were Sachira Madapatha (4-36), Dave Longley (2-25) and Charlie Mundy (2-44).

South Kirkby travel to West Bretton this Saturday, 1.30pm.

There was a 25-run success for Hemsworth MW over Allerton Bywater in Division Two.

After Phil Crapper (34) had got MW moving, they lost four wickets for 22 runs before Craig Webster (25) stemmed the collapse and a seventh wicket stand of 86 by Mitchell Crapper, whose 60 included 10 boundaries, and James Gorton (44) enabled them to reach 211-8.

A solid 70 by Mohammed Tokir gave Allerton some impetus, but Matt Longden (38) was the only one to show support and they were back in the pavilion for 181. Causing their downfall were Jake Taberner (4-47), James Gorton (3-24), Bailey Mathews (1-33) and Max Heritage (1-52).

Hemsworth host Barnby Dun this Saturday, 1.30pm.

Ryhill and Havercroft slumped to a 10-wicket defeat at the hands of Thorpe Audlin in Division Four.

Opener Danny Whelan (27) was the only one to stay long as Ryhill were skittled for 66.

James Faulkner snapped up 5-15, Matthew Faulkner 1-26 and Richard Harris 1-21.

Thorpe Audlin responded with 68 without loss, James Evans (46) and Chris Roughley (18) steering them to success in 14 overs.

This Saturday, Ryhill visit Bentley Colliery, start 1.30pm.

There was no joy for South Kirkby seconds as they entertained Bentley Colliery and lost by 110 runs in Division Four.

Immediately into their stride, the visitors had Stephen Ashworth (48), Shane Payne (52), David Housely (37) and Mark Brown (30), to thank for an impressive 258-8.

Aimee Danks, who took 2-49 and engineered a run-out, Dylan Moran (2-66), Martyn Howie (1-26) and Adam Lowery (1-79) toiled for the home side.

With only 10 fit players, Kirkby were always struggling, Jack Birkby (14), Mark Walker (26) Matthew Wilson (20), Dylan Moran (16) and Martyn Howie (40no), trying to narrow the gap, but they were dismissed for 148.

Shane Payne snapped up 5-55 and Antony Smith 2-17.

South Kirkby host Streethouse this Saturday, 1.30pm.

Frickley Colliery seconds romped to an eight wicket triumph at Featherstone Town in Division Five.

After losing their first wicket without a run on the board, Town were given some hope by Josh Hepworth (127), Connor Beck (55) and Jack Lee (16), but were eventually dismissed for 129. Matthew Pinder captured 5-30, Tom Collis 4-17 and Matthew Simpson 1-29.

An opening partnership of 64 by Matthew Pinder, whose 81 included two sixes and a dozen fours, and John Pinder (10) was followed by one of 51 between Matthew and Lewis Binns (22no) before the latter was joined by Chris Mills (11no) to see Colliery to 130-2 in the 21st over. This Saturday, Frickley host Thurnscoe Institute, 1.30pm.