Sir Rodney Walker becomes honorary member of Parliamentary Rugby League Group

Sir Rodney Walker.
Sir Rodney Walker.

A former Wakefield Trinity Wildcats chairman has been made an honorary life member of the Parliamentary Rugby League Group.

Sir Rodney Walker was invited to join the association, which brings together clubs and individuals in rugby league to support the sport.

It meets to discuss important issues and to hear from those that work within rugby league at all levels.

Mr Walker joins a small group of honorary members, who are all well known for their long-standing and high profile service to the sport.

He said: “I am flattered to receive honorary life membership of the Parliamentary Rugby League Group.

“The group has played a vital role in supporting the game over its 27 year history, and I hope it will continue to do so for many years to come.”

Group chairman and Leeds North West MP Greg Mulholland said he was “delighted” Mr Walker had accepted the role to become an honorary life member.

He said: “ Sir Rodney has done a great deal for the game over the years, and the award of reflects our gratitude for this work.”

Mr Walker was chairman of Trinity between 1986 and 1993, before leaving to take up the post of Rugby Football League chairman, which he held between 1993 and 2002.

He was chairman of the World Snooker Association for several years before being replaced by Barry Hearn in 2009.

And in 1996 Mr Walker was given a knighthood for services to sport. He is an honorary life vice president of the RFL.

Other honorary life members of the Parliamentary Rugby League Group include Sky Sports pundit Mike Stephenson, former RFL chairman Richard Lewis CBE and ex-British Amateur Rugby League Association chief executive Maurice Oldroyd.