Derby rivals meet in trophy final

Thorpe Audlin stayed three points clear of second-placed Pollington in Division Four.
Thorpe Audlin stayed three points clear of second-placed Pollington in Division Four.

Pontefract and District Cricket League Division Four leaders Thorpe Audlin take on Division Three neighbours Hundhill Hall in the AJS Teamwear Trophy final at Fairburn this Sunday (1.30pm start).

Hundhill bounced back from the previous week’s narrow defeat against pacesetters Crigglestone to beat Thurnscoe by 86 runs.

The East Hardwick team recovered from 96-7 to post 223 thanks to Josh Hurcomb’s sparkling 74.

Sam Malyan (7-42) and Jack Gascoigne (2-20) sent Thurnscoe’s reply reeling from 56-1 to 137 all out.

Crofton conceded their match at Streethouse.

Thorpe Audlin stayed three points clear of second-placed Pollington in Division Four with a 33-run win at Ferrybridge Power Station.

Scott Murray (43) top-scored in Thorpe’s total of 225-9. Ferrybridge’s Jack Hart had figures of 5-63 from 14 overs.

Matty Burrows (51) and Craig Ellison (38) gave Ferrybridge’s reply an excellent start with an opening 93-run stand but they were eventually kept at 192-9 by Murray (3-40) and Todd Williamson (3-42).

Tony Holmes (5-33) and openers Richard Ellam (81) and Nigel Punton (62) were outstanding in Pollington’s 51-run victory at Pledwick.

Ackworth lost a high-scoring home match against Bentley Colliery by one run.

Bentley reached 232-7 in their allotted 46 overs, despite Kevin Booth’s 3-35.

Jack Willis (68), James Clark (30) and Booth (29) led Ackworth’s reply which fell just short when they were all out for 231 with three balls remaining.

Martyn Crooks (69), Stephen Ashworth (63), Jacob Peacock (63 and 5-28) and Dylan Moran (3-26) led South Kirkby to a 196-run win against Netherton.

Liam Potts (39) and Blake Tams (2-19) were Ryhill and Havercroft’s best performers in a six-wicket defeat against Stanley Falcon.

Nathan Beck and Lee Dobson put on 202 for the third wicket as Fairburn piled up 339-5 in a 211-run win at Featherstone in Division Five.

Beck’s 135 included 27 fours while Dobson hit one six and 18 fours in an unbeaten 111.

In reply, Ken Atkinson (3-40), Dobson (2-7) and Ben Raynor (2-38) bowled out nine-man Featherstone for 128.

Openers Josh Hepworth (28) and Martin Clayton (23) led Featherstone’s scoring.

Frickley Colliery were indebted to all-rounders Matthew Pinder (44 and 2-22) and Lewis Binns (35 and 3-30)for a five-wicket success at Rothwell.

Harry Wilkinson’s 40 was in vain for Glasshoughton in a nine-wicket loss at Stainborough.

Hemsworth Miners Welfare are the new Division Six leaders. They won by 82 runs at Wakefield Thornes to take over at the top from Knottingley who lost at Brodsworth Main.

Liam Murphy (3-25) and Buck Rees-McClure (2-17) routed Thornes for 72 after Kieran Locke (50no) had led Hemsworth to 154-7.

Brodsworth move level on points with Knottingley whose 55-run defeat was hard on Tony Dove (57no and 2-50) and Richard Hayes (30).

Scott Ledger smashed an unbeaten 139 in West Bretton’s 55-run victory over Whitley Bridge, for whom David Brunyard struck 72 and Diljit Singh finished unbeaten on 65.

In Division Seven East, Dan Ferguson (48 and 4-36), Tony Watson (47) and Joshua Harpin (3-36) gave Hundhill Hall the edge at Thorpe Audlin.

Matthew Kidd (45) and Josh Liddle (38) were Thorpe’s top scorers and Richard Harris (3-15) was their best bowler.

Crigglestone conceded their Division Seven West fixture at Allerton Bywater.

Adam Briddon (40) guided Ferrybridge Power Station to a five-wicket win at Hensall who were limited to 112-8 by Paul Snowdon (4-24) and Briddon (3-29).

Hensall’s Robert Ayrton and Benjamin Poskitt each hit 28 and Gary Lewis took 2-10.

Liam McConville’s unbeaten 57 steered Rossington Main to an eight-wicket win against Sykehouse.