Yorkshire golf: Huddersfield Halifax Junior OoM adds four events to its 2016 calendar

2015 Huddersfield Halifax Junior Order of Merit prize winners, pictured with junior organisers from Crosland Heath GC and Outland GC, and Bradley Park GC president Keith Waddington.
2015 Huddersfield Halifax Junior Order of Merit prize winners, pictured with junior organisers from Crosland Heath GC and Outland GC, and Bradley Park GC president Keith Waddington.

CROSLAND HEATH GC will stage the first event of the 2016 Huddersfield Halifax Junior Order of Merit at the end of this month.

In its successful inaugural year, more than 90 junior golfers took part across eight events, including non-CONGU handicap holders.

The Order of Merit has expanded in its second season and will feature 12 Junior Open events.

Each hosting club will run an 18-hole stroke play competition for golfers up to 28 handicap as well as a nine- or 10-hole competition for those golfers with handicaps of 29 and over.

Prizes for each event will be presented on the day, with Order of Merit points awarded each time a golfer takes part.

At the end of the season each player's five best Merit point scores will be aggregated to calculate the overall winner; the total prize fund will be in excess of £1,000.

Entry fee for each event is £9, or £6 for non-CONGU entrants, and includes the cost of a light meal.

Players can enter directly with each club involved, and further details on the Order of Merit can be obtained by contacting the secretary, Lindsay Salvini, on 01484 653 216 or email lindsay.salvini@live.co.uk.

The full list of events is:

Tuesday, May 31 - Crosland Heath GC; Sunday, June 19 - Lightcliffe GC: Sunday, July 17 - Huddersfield GC; Friday, July 22 - Crow Nest Park GC; Thursday, July 28 - Hanging Heaton GC; Wednesday, August 3 - Halifax Bradley Hall GC; Sunday, August 7 - Bradley Park GC; Thursday, August 11 - Woodsome Hall GC; Wednesday, August:17 - West End GC; Tuesday, August 23 - Outlane GC; Sunday, September 4 - Dewsbury GC; Sunday, September 18 - Elland GC.